What to Do When in an Accident at Work
When an employee has an accident at their work site, they may suffer extensive damages. These damages can be physical but also financial. Like many other states, Florida provides statutes to allow workers to recover damages caused by work-related accidents. Most employers are required by law to contract workers’ compensation insurance. These insurance providers are involved in the evaluation of the claim and are usually the ones paying for any compensation determined to be owed to the injured employee.
As soon as possible (within 30 days after the accident) after the accident you should:
- Inform your employer;
- See a doctor authorized by your employer or their workers’ comp insurance provider;
- Discuss with your employer whether they or you will report the accident to the insurance company;
- Ensure that the accident is reported to the insurance company
When at the doctor and after:
- Provide a specific description of the accident;
- Attend all your follow up appointments;
- Follow the doctor’s instructions for aftercare and treatment;
- Communicate the doctor’s findings to your employer and the insurance company, including whether and/or when you will be able to return to work.
What will you be compensated for?
In Florida, an injured employer will not have to prove negligence by the employer or any other third party. The employee will only have to prove that he or she was injured while performing tasks that are part of their work. The injury, that it was caused by the employee’s occupation, and causation between the two must be established.
If this is the case, then you would be entitled to one or more of the following benefits:
- Indemnity benefits that would replace the wages that you do not receive due to the impossibility to work;
- Temporary or permanent disability, the amount of which will depend on what your salary was and the gravity of the injuries. You will receive temporary total disability benefits if you have to take time off from work to recover from a work-related injury. These are not paid unless you are not able to work for more than 21 days. The amount is calculated based on your salary and is two-thirds of your average weekly wage up to a maximum amount set forth in the law and adjusted annually. For 2020, the maximum is $971 per week.
Let Us Help You Today
If you have suffered an injury from an accident at work, we can help. Don’t hesitate to reach out to the skilled Ocala workers’ compensation lawyers at the Glover Law Firm for help today.