How to Get an Ocala, FL Police Report (Free for Injured Victims)
If you’ve been in an accident in Ocala, FL, you may need to obtain a copy of the police report for a variety of reasons. You may need to file an insurance claim, file a lawsuit, explain the circumstances in a court appearance or hearing, or just have a copy of the records for your own files. Whatever your reason for needing a police report in Ocala, Florida, the following steps will tell you how to obtain one via instant online access, by mail, or by appearing in person.
Get Your Free Ocala, FL Accident Police Report
If you were hurt or injured in an accident in Florida, simply tell us your contact info here… we’ll reach out to you to get the necessary details about the accident so that we can get the report for you, 100% free.
How to Get an Ocala Accident Report Online
The benefits of obtaining a copy of your Ocala, Florida police report online include instant downloads, or access via an email that will come to you after you submit your information and make payment. The steps to obtain your incident report are simple, and outlined below:
- Visit the Florida Crash Portal website
- Select “Buy A Crash Report”
- You will have to attest as to your eligibility to receive the report
- You can then search by report number, incident date, and involved party name
There is a $12 fee to obtain each Ocala, FL accident report from the FLHSMV website. You can pay that via American Express, Master Card, Visa, or Discover card. However, we can provide it to you for free if you were an injured accident victim (see the simple form on this page).
Some things to remember when you obtain your Ocala, FL accident report online:
- Crash reports become available online immediately after you request them, but you must download them within 48 hours. A link to download the reports will be sent to the email address you provide.
- Crash reports are provided in a Zip file containing PDF files.
- You may not be able to find reports on crashes that happened in the last 10 days, because law enforcement agencies have 10 days to submit them.
- If police never responded, you can file an accident report on your own. Learn more about how long after an accident can you file a police report in Florida.
How to Get an Ocala Accident Report by Mail
You can request an Ocala accident report by mail, but your request must be accompanied by an affidavit stating your right to obtain that report. The affidavit must be notarized, and your request must be accompanied by payment. You’ll also need to include a self-addressed, stamped envelope to receive your report back via USPS.
- There are the steps to obtain your Ocala accident report by mail:
- Complete the Traffic Crash Report Affidavit if the accident was less than 60 days in the past and have it notarized. If the accident was more than 60 days in the past, no affidavit is needed.
- Mail your request and payment to:
- Ocala Police Department
2801 E Silver Springs Blvd
Ocala, FL 34471
- Note: If the accident report is not yet available, you may need to wait a few days.
How to Get an Ocala Accident Report in Person
Aside from obtaining an instant download copy online, the fastest way to obtain your Ocala, Florida incident report may be to visit the records division of the Ocala Police Department. You must still provide the information needed to look up the report. Here are the steps for coming into the office to obtain your accident report:
- Locate the Date & Location information for your accident
- Complete the Traffic Crash Report Affidavit & have it notarized if the accident was less than 60 days ago.
- Obtain the report number if possible
- Visit the Ocala Police Department Records Division at 2801 E Silver Springs Blvd, Ocala, FL 34471
- Pay the $5 fee per accident report. This is payable by cash, check, money order, or credit/debit card.
NOTE: We can provide the accident report to you for free if you were an injured accident victim (see the simple form on this page).
If the accident is recent – you may need to wait a few days for the officer to complete your report and it to become available in the system.
Why Do I Need A Traffic Crash Report Affidavit in Florida?
You must be a person or entity that qualifies to receive an accident report to receive a copy within 60 days of an accident. If the accident was more than 60 days ago – anyone can get a copy. This rule is known as the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), 18 U.S.C. s. 2721(b).
Within 60 days of filing, the following persons are eligible to obtain a crash report:
- Parties involved in the crash
- Legal representatives of a party involved in the crash – like your car accident attorney
- Licensed insurance agents of parties involved in the crash
- Insurers of parties involved in the crash or insurers to which they have applied for coverage
- Persons under contract to provide claims or underwriting information to a qualifying insurance company
- Radio or television stations licensed by the FCC
- Newspapers qualified to publish legal notices under sections 50.011 and 50.031, Florida Statutes
- Any local, state, or federal agency that is legally authorized to have access to crash reports
- A victim services program, as defined in section 316.003(107), Florida Statutes
- Any private person or entity acting on behalf of a federal, state, or local governmental agency in carrying out its functions but not for redistribution to any person or entity not listed in F.S. 316.066 2(b).
- Any third party acting on behalf of a person or entity authorized under F.S. 316.066(2)(b). Third party may disclose the crash report only to the person or entity authorized to access the report.
How Much Does It Cost to Get an Ocala, Florida Accident Report?
If you are obtaining your police report online via the FLHSMV, the fee is $12 per report. You can pay by debit or credit card. However, the Ocala car accident attorneys at Glover Law Firm can provide it to you for free if you were an injured accident victim (see the simple form on this page).
If you are visiting the Ocala Police Department to obtain a copy of your accident report, you can pay by cash, check, money order, credit card, or debit card. Please make checks or money orders payable to The Ocala Police Department. If you are obtaining your police accident report online, you can pay with Visa, Master Card, Discover, or American Express. Credit or debit cards are accepted.
How Long Does It Take To Get the Ocala Accident Report?
In most cases, it will take 3 days for the accident report to become available. This time frame can vary based upon workload and staffing, so you may want to call ahead to ensure that your accident report is ready. The rule in Ocala is that any incident report must be uploaded to the FLHSMV within 10 days – so it may take a few days longer to see your report online, but you’ll be able to download it instantly – making this the most efficient way to obtain your report.
What Documentation Is Required to Get the Ocala Accident Report?
To obtain a copy of an accident report from the Ocala Police Department in Ocala, Florida, you will need to provide the following documentation:
- The accident report number
- The date and time of the accident
- The location of the accident
- Your name and address
- A valid form of identification (driver’s license, state ID, passport)
- If the accident was within the last 60 days, you’ll also need to provide a notarized Traffic Crash Report Affidavit.
- If you’re asking for your report via mail, you’ll need to provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope so that the report can be mailed back to you.
In a car accident outside of Ocala, Florida? Consult our guides on how to get a Marion County, FL accident report online or how to get a car accident report online in Florida.