Florida’s Low-Speed Vehicle Laws
In Florida, a “low-speed vehicle” means any four-wheeled vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour, including, but not limited to, neighborhood electric vehicles.
Below is a summary of some of Florida’s low-speed vehicle laws:
- A low-speed vehicle may be operated only on streets where the posted speed limit is 35 miles per hour or less. This does not prohibit a low-speed vehicle from crossing a road or street at an intersection where the road or street has a posted speed limit of more than 35 miles per hour.
- A low-speed vehicle must be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, tail-lamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.
- A low-speed vehicle must be registered, insured, and titled pursuant to Florida law.
- Any person operating a low-speed vehicle must have in his or her possession a valid driver license.
- A county or municipality, as well as the Department of Transportation, may prohibit the operation of low-speed vehicles.
See our page on Florida golf cart laws to see the difference between golf carts and LSVs.